Council Year 2002/2003

1

Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed appointments to the Cabinet by the Leader

(Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group).

<u>CABINET</u> (Leader of the Council plus 4 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the four members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be five in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least two but not more than nine members.

Leader of the Council: Mrs Healy

2	Deputy Leader: Tutt
3	Harris
4	Leggett
5	Thompson
OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABI	NET'' (Notification for information)
1	Opposition Leader: Marsden
2	Deputy Leader: Belsey
3	}
4	} to be notified
5	}
COMMITTEES	

<u>Scrutiny Committee</u> 7 members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman and Deputy to be member of largest opposition group).

Democrat	Conse	vative
Spks: Stanley	5	Ch: Lacey
Skilton	6	D/Ch: Belsey
Slater	7	Williams
Mrs Teso	Substitutes:	
	1	Stevens
Marsh	2	Mrs Murray
Mrs Sims	3	Taylor
Creaven		
	Skilton Slater Mrs Teso Marsh Mrs Sims	Spks: Stanley 5 Skilton 6 Slater 7 Mrs Teso Substitutes: 1 Marsh 2 Mrs Sims 3

Best Value Management Committee 5 members to include at least 1 Cabinet member and at least 1 member of the Scrutiny Committee, not the Mayor)

Liberal Democrat			Conservative		
1	Ch: Stanley	4	Spks: Marsden		
2	D/Ch: Tutt	5	Mrs Howlett		
3	Skilton	Substitutes:			
Substitutes:		1	Warner		
1	Marsh	2	Williams		
2	Slater				

3	Mrs Pooley		
Planning and	l Licensing Committee (8 trained '	Regulatory Pool" Counci	illors - not Cabinet members).
	Liberal Democrat		Conservative
1	Ch: Berry	6	Spks: Bowker
2	D/Ch: Skilton	7	Elkin
3	Creaven	8	Stevens
4	Mrs Pooley		
5	Marsh		
	egulatory Pool Councillors (not Caning and Licensing Committee members)		tory Pool" to total 12 in total
	Liberal Democrat		Conservative
1	Mrs Sims	3	Belsey
2	Mrs Teso	4	Williams
Standards Co	ommittee (3) members, excluding m	embers of the Cabinet)	
Liberal Democrat			Conservative
1	Ch: Skilton	3	Mrs Goodall
2	D/Ch: Mrs Teso	Substitute:	

Substitutes:		T ₁	Bowker
Saositatos.		1	20 maci
1	Mrs Pooley		
2	Stanley		
			natched by the 8 County Division
Councillors. Cha	urmanship alternates between E	Borough and County a	nd is elected at the first meeting in the
Country year).			
			~ 1
	Liberal Democrat		Conservative
1	Stanley	6	Taylor
	T		Eu :
2	Leggett	7	Elkin
3	Thompson	8	Warner
4	TT		
4	Harris		
5	Berry		
DANEE G			L
PANELS	·		
Licensing Panel	(3 (or 4) members to be select	ed on an ad hoc basis	from the "Regulatory Pool"). Nomination
for standing Chai			
		Liberal Democrat	
Ch:		Mrs Pooley	
Other Benels 1	M 1 1 1 1	1 :1 ::	s of Part 3 of the Constitution as and when

Other Panels. Members to be selected in accordance with provisions of Part 3 of the Constitution as and when required.

ADVISORY GROUPS

Conservation Area Advisory Group 3 members, not "Regulatory Pool" members, plus external advisors)

	Liberal Democrat		Conservative
1	Ch: Leggett	3	Howlett
2	D/Ch: Slater		
Tenants Advis	ory Group 5 members, plus tenant	representatives).	
	Liberal Democrat		Conservative
1	Ch: Mrs Pooley	4	Mrs Murray
2	D/Ch: Leggett	5	Elkin
3	Slater		
opposition group	nsultative Committee (6 members p, plus Staff representatives. Contraber. Chairmanship to alternate be	olling Group's repres	entation to include 2 Cabinet and 1
opposition group	p, plus Staff representatives. Contr	olling Group's repres	entation to include 2 Cabinet and 1
opposition group	p, plus Staff representatives. Contr mber. Chairmanship to alternate be	olling Group's repres	sentation to include 2 Cabinet and 1 and Staff Sides.
opposition group non-Cabinet me	p, plus Staff representatives. Contr mber. Chairmanship to alternate be Liberal Democrat	rolling Group's represe tween Employers' an	centation to include 2 Cabinet and 1 and Staff Sides. Conservative
opposition group non-Cabinet me	p, plus Staff representatives. Contr mber. Chairmanship to alternate be Liberal Democrat Mrs Healy	rolling Group's represented the Employers' and the	Conservative Marsden
opposition group non-Cabinet me	p, plus Staff representatives. Contributer. Chairmanship to alternate be Liberal Democrat Mrs Healy Thompson	olling Group's represented the setween Employers' and setween Employ	Conservative Marsden Bowker
popposition group non-Cabinet me 1 2 BEST VALUI Note: Current	p, plus Staff representatives. Contrember. Chairmanship to alternate be Liberal Democrat Mrs Healy Thompson Skilton E REVIEW TEAMS: All 2 members.	olling Group's represented the Employers' and 4	Conservative Marsden Bowker
popposition group non-Cabinet me 1 2 BEST VALUI Note: Current	p, plus Staff representatives. Contrember. Chairmanship to alternate be Liberal Democrat Mrs Healy Thompson Skilton EREVIEW TEAMS: All 2 membership is listed. It is strongly maintain continuity.	olling Group's represented the Employers' and 4	Conservative Marsden Bowker Williams

Miss Woodall	Mrs Goodall
Equalities (due to submit final report in June 20	002)
Liberal Democrat	Conservative
Mrs Teso	Belsey
Housing Management	
Liberal Democrat	Conservative
Mrs Pooley	Elkin
Lifeline (due to submit final report in June 2002	2)
Liberal Democrat	Conservative
Leggett	Mrs Murray
ICC (Information, Communication and Consult	tation)
Liberal Democrat	Conservative
Slater	Lacey
Emergency Planning (joint with other Councils	in East Sussex) One member and a deputy is allowed.
Liberal Democrat	Conservative
Harris	Bowker (Deputy)

OTHER:

Place to Enjoy Forum (3 members)

Liberal Democrat		Conservative		vative	
	l Tri				N. C. 111
1	Thompson		3		Mrs Goodall
2	Slater				
Town Centre Action Gro	ip (4 mer	mbers)			
One Councillor from each of Ward) plus one other Councillor		shire, Meads and U	pperton Wards (to o	cover are	a of the old Devonshire
	-				
Devonshire		Mrs Teso			
Meads		Elkin			
Upperton	Jpperton Mrs Murray				
Other	Other Mrs Healy				
Downland Forum (4 mem	bers)				
Liberal I	Democrat			Conse	vative
1	Skilton		3		Stevens
2	Mrs Sims		4		Taylor
Cleansing and Highways	Forum (2	2 members)	L		
Liberal I	Liberal Democrat			Conse	vative
Harris			Taylor		

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief (4 members)

Liberal Democrat		Conse	vative
1	Slater	3	Mrs Howlett
2	Mrs Sims	4	Warner
Councillors appointed to	hold an "E-Champion" Br	ief (2 members)	

Liberal Democrat		Conser	vative
1	Harris	2	Lacey

Eastbourne Buses Limited - Non Executive Directors (4 members)

Liberal Democrat		Conse	vative
1	Ch: Leggett	3	Elkin
Skilton		4	Warner

(der\P:council\02.05.15\schedule of group noms)